Built on the edge of the lake on the peninsula of Sixteen Acre Island, the Japanese Tea House Folly is best viewed from the Loggia. For a closer view of the Folly you can hire a boat to row across the lake or take the Lake Walk. Visitors can walk around and sit under the veranda but the interior is closed to the public.
Re-constructed in 2013 to mark the 30th anniversary of the Guthrie family buying Hever Castle, the Tea House Folly was designed to recapture the idea and purpose of the original Edwardian Tea House rather than trying to emulate an authentic tea house. Although it formed an integral part of the landscape design, the original Tea House was knocked down to make way for a pill box during the Second World War. Sadly, most of the plans and photographs were kept in the cellars along with other archive material and destroyed when the Castle was subjected to two terrible floods in 1958 and 1968.
Designed by Stephen Langer Associates and built by local oak framing company, Scott Partnership, work began on the Folly in April 2013. Traditional timber framing techniques and locally sourced timber, some from the Hever Castle estate, were used to form the main structure. The striking red colour of the Tea House adds to its Japanese appearance, as do the four gold dragons sitting proudly on each corner of the roof.