Cobham – 14th century

A pre-existing building on this site descended through the Cobham family until 1362 when it was inherited by John de Cobham of Devonshire. John was a tax collector and a Justice of the Peace in Sussex and Surrey. In 1383 John was granted a licence to crenellate the Castle by Richard II. In 1392 he was appointed a deputy to Thomas of Woodstock, Duke of Gloucester, as constable in the Court of Chivalry and accompanied Richard II to Ireland as an Esquire of the Household. John died in 1399 and was buried under the belfry at St Peter’s Church in Hever with his second wife Joan Lewknor and their son Reynold. His will reveals that he provided for £30 to be spent on his funeral and twenty poor men to stand vigil over his tomb for forty days.

The Castle


Uncover the history of the 14th century Castle once the childhood home of Anne Boleyn, Anne of Cleves, Sir John Fastolf and William Waldorf Astor.


Uncover more about the 12 different families that have owned Hever Castle from 1383 to the present day. See the stained glass created to commemorate them.


Discover the history of Hever Castle, its owners and inhabitants as you travel through time from its construction in 1383 to the present day.


Head inside the Castle and discover wood panelled rooms, roaring fireplaces and a vast collection of paintings.